The Girl Next Door (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
352
Utgivningsdatum
2015-07-16
Förlag
Arrow Books Ltd
Originalspråk
English
Dimensioner
197 x 129 x 22 mm
Vikt
246 g
ISBN
9780099598756

The Girl Next Door

a mesmerising mystery of murder and memory from the award-winning queen of crime, Ruth Rendell

(1 röst)
Häftad,  Engelska, 2015-07-16
139
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
In all her novels, multi-million copy and SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Ruth Rendell digs deep beneath the surface to investigate the secrets of the human psyche and The Girl Next Door is no exception. This compelling and captivating mystery, with its taut plotting and spine-tingling twists and turns is perfect for fans of PD James, Ann Cleeves and Donna Leon. 'This novel reminded me of the singularity of Ruth Rendell's talent, her effortless mastery of language and her uncanny genius for mapping a criminal mind.' -- The Times 'Rendell is as masterful as ever; her writing tense, brittle, and brilliant.' -- Sunday Mirror 'Couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review 'Fantastic book' -- ***** Reader review 'Fabulous read' -- ***** Reader review 'Love the way Ruth Rendell weaves the plot - she never disappoints me' -- ***** Reader review 'Brilliant storyline, couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review ************************************************************************************ Beneath the green meadows of Loughton, Essex, a dark network of tunnels has been dug. A group of children discover them. They play there. It becomes their place. Seventy years on, the world has changed. Developers have altered the rural landscape. Friends from a half-remembered world have married, died, grown sick, moved - or disappeared. Work on a new house called Warlock uncovers a long buried grisly secret: the bones of two severed hands are discovered in a box, and an investigation into a long-buried crime of passion begins. The friends, who played together as children, begin to question their past. And a weary detective, more concerned with current crimes, must investigate a case of murder.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Girl Next Door
  2. +
  3. Good Girl, Bad Blood

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Good Girl, Bad Blood av Holly Jackson (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 234 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Ruth Rendell

Recensioner i media

The Girl Next Door is vintage Rendell and a perfect celebration of her half-century. Shes so effortlessly prolific that its easy to take her for granted; we assume that if we miss one of her books, therell be another one along in a minute. This novel, however, reminded me of the singularity of Ruth Rendells talent, her effortless mastery of language and her uncanny genius for mapping a criminal mind. * The Times * Rendell is as masterful as ever; her writing tense, brittle, and brilliant. * Sunday Mirror * She is the peer of Kingsley Amis and Muriel Spark. The Girl Next Door is as great a novel as Stanley and the Women or Memento Mori . . . a joy to read. Rendell's novels establish a sense of order that is deeply satisfying. * Evening Standard * Fifty years on, the girl from Essex has become the unchallenged crime queen of suburbia. Her powers of observation are as acute as ever, and she writes about old age with as much gusto as any of the subjects she has tackled in her long career. * Sunday Times * This book is extraordinarily courageous, a demonstration that fiction can take us where reportage dares not go. * Independent * Rendell gives an acutely observed portrayal of old age through her characters regrets, losses and bewilderment . . . Difficult themes such as death, usually dressed up in mystery in a crime novel are, thanks to these elderly protagonists, real, hard-hitting and constant. * Observer * That The Girl Next Door works as a standalone novel is partly attributable to Rendells deftness in parrying comparisons with her best-known creation. It also unravels a satisfying mystery, stretching tentacles into the past. * Spectator * An excellent analysis of re-found youth, this novel shows how people can surprise themselves even in their winter years. * Sunday Express * In this engaging novel, the portraits of elderly people living today and their preoccupations are presented with almost sociological precision, and scattered throughout are acute observations about changing language and manners. * Literary Review * Nobody does the suburbs like Ruth Rendell: in her expert hands they exert a morbid fascination. Behind the immaculate exteriors lurks a world of unhappiness and deceit and at times murder. An excellent read. * The Lady *

Övrig information

Ruth Rendell was an exceptional crime writer, and will be remembered as a legend in her own lifetime. Her groundbreaking debut novel, From Doon With Death, was first published in 1964 and introduced the reader to her enduring and popular detective, Inspector Reginald Wexford, who went on to feature in twenty-four of her subsequent novels. With worldwide sales of approximately 20 million copies, Rendell was a regular Sunday Times bestseller. Her sixty bestselling novels include police procedurals, some of which have been successfully adapted for TV, stand-alone psychological mysteries, and a third strand of crime novels under the pseudonym Barbara Vine. Very much abreast of her times, the Wexford books in particular often engaged with social or political issues close to her heart. Rendell won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger for 1976s best crime novel with A Demon in My View, a Gold Dagger award for Live Flesh in 1986, and the Sunday Times Literary Award in 1990. In 2013 she was awarded the Crime Writers Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for sustained excellence in crime writing. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer. Ruth Rendell died in May 2015. Her final novel, Dark Corners, was published in October 2015.