Man Down (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Läsålder
12-15 år
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2022-03-03
Förlag
Penguin Books Ltd
Dimensioner
198 x 129 x 24 mm
Vikt
270 g
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9780241383339

Man Down

Häftad,  Engelska, 2022-03-03
99
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Will Parks needs to man up. A man stands. A man fights. A man bleeds. These are the first lessons you learn in a town where girls are objects, words are weak and fists do the talking. Will's more at home in the classroom than the gym, and the most important woman in his life is his gran. So how can a boy who's always backed away from a fight become the hero who saves the day? Because a disaster is coming. One that Will can prevent. But only if he learns the most important lesson of all: sometimes to step up, you have to man down. A searingly powerful exploration of toxic masculinity, perfect for fans of Juno Dawson or They Both Die at the End. 'Stylish, thought-provoking thriller territory . . . Highly recommended' - The Irish Times 'Staggeringly good . . . had me hanging on every word' Louisa Reid, author of Wrecked and Lies Like Love 'Good books make you feel something. Great books change the way you feel about everything. Man Down is a great book. No one is writing about young men's lives with as much warmth, empathy and humour as James is right now.' Samuel Pollen, author of The Year I Didn't Eat 'Utterly compelling, completely original and will undoubtedly be one of the standout books of 2022. An absolute must read' - Adam Simcox, author of The Dying Squad 'An excellent look at what it means to "be a man" amid a culture of peer pressure and toxic masculinity while navigating desire and friendship. Loved it.' - Anna Stephens, author of Godblind 'Emotionally complex, dark and clever - a very unexpected, thoughtful and original book. I can honestly think of no other YA quite like it.' - Gina Blaxill, author of Saving Silence
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Man Down
  2. +
  3. Powerless

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Powerless av Lauren Roberts (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 229 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av James Goodhand

Recensioner i media

Stylish, thought-provoking thriller territory . . . Highly recommended -- Claire Hennessy * The Irish Times * Staggeringly good . . . had me hanging on every word -- Louisa Reid, author of Wrecked and Lies Like Love Man Down is truly special. A love letter to youth, life, love and hope, it's utterly compelling, completely original and will undoubtedly be one of the standout books of 2022. An absolute must read. * Adam Simcox, author of The Dying Squad * Good books make you feel something. Great books change the way you feel about everything. Man Down is a great book. No one is writing about young men's lives with as much warmth, empathy and humour as James Goodhand is right now. -- Samuel Pollen, author of The Year I Didn't Eat An excellent look at what it means to 'be a man' amid a culture of peer pressure and toxic masculinity while navigating desire and friendship. Loved it. * Anna Stevens, author of Godblind * Emotionally complex, dark and clever - a very unexpected, thoughtful and original book. I can honestly think of no other YA quite like it. * Gina Blaxill, author of Saving Silence * A gritty, gripping tale of a young man searching for meaning in a life that's far from ordinary. * Malcolm Duffy, author of Sofa Surfer *

Övrig information

James Goodhand lives in Surrey with his wife and young son. A mechanic by day, much of his work has been written at an oil-stained workbench whilst ignoring a queue of broken cars in need of his attention. James is also a keen musician, regularly gigging as a rhythm and blues pianist.