The Land at the End of the World (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
224
Utgivningsdatum
2012-07-31
Förlag
WW Norton & Co
Översättare
Margaret Jull Costa
Illustratör/Fotograf
frontispiece black & white illustrations
Illustrationer
black & white illustrations, frontispiece
Dimensioner
206 x 137 x 15 mm
Vikt
295 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
Paperback
ISBN
9780393342338

The Land at the End of the World

A Novel

Häftad,  Engelska, 2012-07-31
289
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, one of the twentieth century's most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World-in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa-recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator's evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Land at the End of the World
  2. +
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Court of Thorns and Roses av Sarah J Maas (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 403 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Antonio Lobo Antunes

Recensioner i media

"[Antunes] has created a memorably unhinged narrator, and [Costa] manages to capture, perfectly and faithfully, the bitter, hallucinatory and increasingly desperate tone of his monologue." -- Larry Rohter - New York Times "Lobo Antunes crafts macabre fever dreams as if possessed by an abler Poe, and few other novelists have his Bellovian ability to see both deeply and minutely, to render the world, the fallen world, as if never rendered before." -- William Giraldi - Daily Beast "Read Antonio Lobo Antunes' The Land at the End of the World, and you, like the protagonist, may never forget the hallucinatory depravity, degradation and corruption of an unjust war." -- Kai Maristed - Los Angeles Times "Magnificent prose, dense with striking and unexpected imagery...I was so seized by the novel's spirit that I was motivated to turn to my own. I wanted to imitate Lobo Antunes, and I failed." -- Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer

Övrig information

Antonio Lobo Antunes, born in 1942 in Benfica, is considered to be Portugal's greatest living writer. The author of more than twenty novels, including What Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?, he has won many awards and makes his home in Lisbon. Margaret Jull Costa is the award-winning translator of works by Eca de Quieros, Javier Marias, and Jose Saramago.