Creativity, Inc. (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2014-04-08
Upplaga
Internationale Ausgabe (US)
Förlag
Random House Publishing Group
Illustratör/Fotograf
8pp Black-&-white Photo Insert
Illustrationer
8PP BLACK-&-WHITE PHOTO INSERT
Dimensioner
233 x 155 x 21 mm
Vikt
530 g
ISBN
9780553841220

Creativity, Inc.

Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Häftad,  Engelska, 2014-04-08
200
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Huffington Post • Financial Times • Success • Inc. • Library Journal

"What does it mean to manage well?"

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business-sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc. "just might be the business book ever written."

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation-into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture-but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired-and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success-and in the thirteen movies that followed-was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

Praise for Creativity, Inc.

"Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success."-Jim Collins, co-author of Built to Last and author of Good to Great

"Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it."-Seth Godin
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Creativity, Inc.
  2. +
  3. Poor Charlie's Almanack

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Poor Charlie's Almanack av Charles T Munger, Peter D Kaufman (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 505 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av författarna