Burning (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
304
Utgivningsdatum
2021-06-29
Förlag
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Dimensioner
202 x 132 x 20 mm
Vikt
200 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780593081259

Burning

A Novel

Häftad,  Engelska, 2021-06-29
212
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK!
A New York Times Notable Book

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

In this National Book Award Longlist honoree and "gripping thriller with compassionate social commentary" (USA Today), Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely-an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor-has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear.

Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Burning
  2. +
  3. Bride

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Bride av Ali Hazelwood (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 261 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Megha Majumdar

  • En eld

    Megha Majumdar

    Jivan är en muslimsk tjej från Kolkatas slum, fast besluten att göra något av sitt liv. Med pengar från sitt butiksjobb har hon kunnat köpa sig en mobiltelefon, som nu bubblar av uppdateringar om ett terrordåd mot ett tåg där över hundra personer ...

  • In Flammen

    Megha Majumdar

    Indien droht zu zerbrechen ? und mit ihm eine junge FrauDie neue Stimme der indischen Literatur: packend, facettenreich und hochpolitischEin Land steht in Flammen: Jivan muss mit ansehen, wie ein Anschlag auf die U-Bahn in Kalkutta Hunderte Mensch...