How England Made the English (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2013-04-04
Förlag
Penguin Books Ltd
Originalspråk
English
Illustratör/Fotograf
8pp black & white 8pp colour
Illustrationer
8pp black & white; 8pp colour
Dimensioner
194 x 122 x 25 mm
Vikt
326 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9780670919147
How England Made the English (häftad)

How England Made the English

From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

Häftad Engelska, 2013-04-04
152
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Praise for Harry Mount: 'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent 'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail 'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. How England Made the English
  2. +
  3. 48 Laws of Power

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt 48 Laws of Power av R Greene (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 394 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Harry Mount

Recensioner i media

A lovely book, very engaging and easy to read. There are chapters on weather and soil and stone, on the history of hedges or the making of suburbia, all of them infectious did-you-knows. Mount is a natural and enthusiastic sharer of knowledge * Evening Standard * Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed * Guardian * Lively, a delight. Mount's paragraphs explode with information . . . I love all this, want more, and am given it. The sort of book, in its temperament and in its detail, that has helped to make England English * Spectator * Mount is as perceptive as he is obsessive, and time and again he skewers with unfailing accuracy some aspect of our national character * Mail on Sunday * 'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion * Daily Mail *

Övrig information

Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.