The Trouble with Testosterone (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
288
Utgivningsdatum
1998-04-01
Förlag
Simon & Schuster
Illustrationer
Illustrations, unspecified; Illustrations, unspecified
Dimensioner
215 x 140 x 20 mm
Vikt
280 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780684838915

The Trouble with Testosterone

And Other Essays on the Biology of the Human Predicament

Häftad,  Engelska, 1998-04-01
269
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 3-6 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as "one of the best scientist/writers of our time," a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior. In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. "The Trouble with Testosterone" explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. "Curious George's Pharmacy" reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. "Junk Food Monkeys" relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And "Circling the Blanket for God" examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief. Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world's inhabitants with skill and flair.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Trouble with Testosterone
  2. +
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Court of Thorns and Roses av Sarah J Maas (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 383 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Robert M Sapolsky

Recensioner i media

[T]he book makes for very interesting and enjoyable reading. Those who have read Sapolsky's earlier books will be familiar with his casual and accessible style of writing. Although the ideas he presents are complex and often provocative, the facts are kept relatively simple. Throughout, the science is interspersed with personal anecdotes and humorous asides.-- "Nature Medicine" Ask fans of popular science to name the best science essayists today, and the name of Sapolsky should not immediately come to mind. This book should help to change that.-- "Library Journal (starred review)" In the end it is the refreshing honesty of this scientist-teacher, his zeal to speculate as well as to clearly present the facts, that engages the reader. That, and a deft and often witty way with words.-- "Kirkus" Sapolsky draws fascinating parallels between humans and our close primate relatives and provides abundant details about some of the latest breaking discoveries in neurobiology . . . [He] packs his treatments of them with wisdom and delightful surprises.-- "Publisher's Weekly (starred review)"

Övrig information

Robert M. Sapolsky is the author of several works of nonfiction, including A Primate's Memoir, The Trouble with Testosterone, and Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers. He is a professor of biology and neurology at Stanford University and the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation genius grant. He lives in San Francisco