Material World (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
512
Utgivningsdatum
2023-06-15
Förlag
W H Allen
Dimensioner
40 x 230 x 151 mm
Vikt
760 g
ISBN
9780753559154

Material World

A Substantial Story of Our Past and Future

Inbunden,  Engelska, 2023-06-15
244
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss på måndag
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 4 format & utgåvor
A bold new story of human progress, told through six materials that built our world and will transform our future. For fans of Tim Marshall, Lewis Dartnell, Jared Diamond and Yuval Harari. **Shortlisted for the Financial Times and Schroders Business Book of the Year Award** Picked as a Book of the Year by THE TIMES, FINANCIAL TIMES, ECONOMIST and NEW STATESMAN A BBC RADIO 4 Book of the Week 'A compelling narrative of the human story' TIM MARSHALL, author of Prisoners of Geography 'Lively, rich and exciting... full of surprises' PETER FRANKOPAN, author of The Silk Roads _____________ Sand, salt, iron, copper, oil and lithium. They built our world, and they will transform our future. These are the six most crucial substances in human history. They took us from the Dark Ages to the present day. They power our computers and phones, build our homes and offices, and create life-saving medicines. But most of us take them completely for granted. In Material World, Ed Conway travels the globe - from the sweltering depths of the deepest mine in Europe, to spotless silicon chip factories in Taiwan, to the eerie green pools where lithium originates - to uncover a secret world we rarely see. Revealing the true marvel of these substances, he follows the mind-boggling journeys, miraculous processes and little-known companies that turn the raw materials we all need into products of astonishing complexity. As we wrestle with climate change, energy crises and the threat of new global conflict, Conway shows why these substances matter more than ever before, and how the hidden battle to control them will shape our geopolitical future. This is the story of civilisation - our ambitions and glory, innovations and appetites - from a new perspective- literally from the ground up.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Material World
  2. +
  3. Braiding Sweetgrass

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Braiding Sweetgrass av Robin Wall Kimmerer (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 374 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Ed Conway

Recensioner i media

An eye-opening celebration of human ingenuity -- Andrew Hill * Financial Times, Best Books of 2023 - Business * Lively, rich and exciting ... full of surprises. Underlines that to understand global geopolitics, you need to understand natural resources and geology -- Peter Frankopan, author of THE SILK ROADS Fascinating . . . A revelation * The Times, Best Science and Environment Books of 2023 * A compelling narrative of the human story -- Tim Marshall, author of PRISONERS OF GEOGRAPHY Brilliant -- Martin Wolf * Financial Times - Best Summer Books of 2023: Economics * Fascinating, fun, and vitally important. A wonderful exploration of the world we've built yet somehow manage to ignore -- Tim Harford, bestselling author of HOW TO MAKE THE WORLD ADD UP Revealing and empowering * New Statesman, Best Summer Books of 2023 * Expansive, erudite, and edifying. A stunning insight into the materials that shaped our history and built the modern world -- Prof. Lewis Dartnell, author of 'BEING HUMAN: How our Biology shaped World History' [An] enlightening account... he throws new light on how the world works... Not a sentence jars in Material World * The Times * A vivid guide to the material world on which we all, often unconsciously, rely and essential background reading to understand securonomics -- Rachel Reeves * New Statesman, Books of the Year 2023 * '[Conway's] book deconstructs the modern world for us to see inside ... As we fret and argue about how to tackle climate change, economic development and geopolitical tensions, this book is a timely reminder of our reliance on physical stuff, and offers a challenging, practical perspective on these debates ... Enlightening * Bloomberg * Goes straight on the 'must-read' list ... Conway is one of the most adroit commentators on economics and business of our time * City AM * A stunning book that will transform the way you think about economics and life. Brilliantly written -- Matthew Syed, author of REBEL IDEAS [A] masterful exploration of the materials that underpin civilisation . . . The biography of an element or material is now a familiar format . . . but what distinguishes Material World is his access . . . This is not a remote, academic analysis: he has been to the salt mines beneath the North Sea, the mineral railway of the Atacama Desert, the Chilean town being swallowed by the world's demand for copper -- Will Dunn * New Statesman * Endlessly fascinating -- Adrian Chiles Conway's gripping explanation of a world you didn't know needed explaining deserves this highest of accolades: Material World, once read, leaves us baffled that nobody ever thought of writing it before -- Matthew Parris In Material World, Ed Conway uncovers the hidden history of the materials that structure our world. Full of colourful characters and fascinating connections, Material World shows how the seemingly simplest materials - from sand to salt to iron - require unbelievably complex refining and processing before arriving at their final form. Absorbing storytelling... Fascinating and insightful -- Chris Miller, author of CHIP WAR One of the most interesting books I have read in a really, really long time. It's absolutely brilliant [...] buy it, right now -- Merryn Somerset Webb * Merryn Talks Money * Ed Conway is a great thinker... Material World is an engrossing study of the basic substances on which we all depend. Anyone who cares about the resources which built our world and where mankind is heading must read this vital book -- Adam Boulton, Times Radio A masterful exploration of how materials shape our world more than ever - economically, geopolitically and environmentally -- Diane Coyle CBE, Bennett Professor of Public Policy at the University of Cambridge A highly engaging and important look at the key materials powering our modern world, and how we feed our insatiable appetite for them -- Professor Kenneth Rogoff, Professor of Economics a

Övrig information

Ed Conway is a writer and broadcaster. He is the Economics and Data Editor of Sky News and a regular columnist for The Times and Sunday Times. He has written two critically acclaimed and bestselling books and has won numerous awards for his journalism. He lives in London.