Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
256
Utgivningsdatum
2023-08-10
Förlag
Doubleday
Översättare
Alison Watts
Originalspråk
Japanese
Dimensioner
204 x 135 x 23 mm
Vikt
320 g
ISBN
9780857529121

What You Are Looking for is in the Library

The uplifting Japanese fiction bestseller

(1 röst)
Inbunden,  Engelska, 2023-08-10
179
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
***THE FAVOURITE READ FOR ALL BOOK-LOVERS*** The Sunday Times bestseller A Time Magazine Top 100 Best Book of the Year 2023 'I ADORED this uplifting, hopeful novel ' Daily Mail 'It made me laugh and cry and feel comforted' 5***** Reader review 'A tribute to the transformative power of books and libraries' Irish Times Already loved by thousands of readers, an inspirational tale of the love, comfort and growth you can find in the pages of a good book. _________________ What are you looking for? So asks Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian, Sayuri Komachi. But she is no ordinary librarian. Sensing exactly what someone is searching for in life, she provides just the book recommendation to help them find it. We meet five visitors to the library, each at a different crossroads: - The restless retail assistant eager to pick up new skills - The mother faced with a demotion at work after maternity leave - The conscientious accountant who yearns to open an antique store - The gifted young manga artist in search of motivation - The recently retired salaryman on a quest for newfound purpose Can she help them find what they are looking for? Which book will you recommend? _________________ 'An undeniable page-turner' New York Times For fans of The Midnight Library and Before the Coffee Gets Cold, this feel-good Japanese book shows how the perfect book recommendation can change a life. SHORTLISTED FOR THE JAPAN BOOKSELLERS' AWARD 'I definitely want to visit this library. I feel kinder after this book' 5***** Reader review 'A quirky slice of feel-good fiction that you could recommend to anyone' Mail on Sunday 'Wonderful. It made me look for connection in my life' 5***** Reader review Sunday Times bestseller, December 2023
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. What You Are Looking for is in the Library
  2. +
  3. Three-Body Problem

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Three-Body Problem av Cixin Liu (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 326 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Michiko Aoyama

  • Frau Komachi empfiehlt ein Buch

    Michiko Aoyama

    Der Bestseller aus Japan: eine Bibliothekarin, die verborgene Wünsche erkennt. Lektüre, die Leben verändert. Ein Buch, das großes Leseglück beschert. «Wonach suchen Sie?» Diese Frage stellt Sayuri Komachi allen Besuchern in ihrer kleinen Gemeindeb...

  • La Biblioteca de Los Nuevos Comienzos / The Library of New Beginnings

    Michiko Aoyama

    La novela japonesa sobre el poder de los libros que está cautivando al mundo. Más de 300.000 ejemplares. Un libro puede cambiarte la vida. En el corazón de Tokio hay una pequeña biblioteca donde trabaja la señora Komachi. Teclea en su computadora ...

Recensioner i media

I ADORED this uplifting, hopeful novel ... A joy from start to finish, this book makes you feel anything is possible -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail * There's a wistful, warm-hearted appeal to Aoyama's paean to the power of books ... [it's] a quirky slice of feel-good fiction that you could recommend to anyone * Mail on Sunday * An endearing novel and a tribute to the transformative power of books and libraries * Irish Times * Captivating! * Sunday Post * The novel is an undeniable page-turner, its mechanism energized by a simple question, posed again and again by the uncanny librarian, Mrs. Komachi. The question brings Michiko Aoyamas characters often to the brink of tears; and not only her characters, but this reader, too. It is the great question of the library, and of the bookstore, and maybe of life: What are you looking for? * New York Times * If what you are searching for is a believable take on contemporary life in Tokyo, seasoned with a dash of whimsy, youll find your perfect match in this heartwarming novel * Japan Times * It's been a rotten year, so spark joy with this! * DAILY MAIL * Theres a special kind of magic in recommending books to other people and Michiko Aoyama captures that perfectly here. Full of charm; a genuine comfort read * CULTURE FLY *

Övrig information

Michiko Aoyama (Author) Michiko Aoyama was born in 1970 in Aichi Prefecture, Honshu, Japan. After university, she became a reporter for a Japanese newspaper based in Sydney before moving back to Tokyo to work as a magazine editor. What You are Looking for is in the Library was shortlisted for the Japan Booksellers' Award and became a Japanese bestseller. It is being translated into more than twenty languages. Aoyama lives in Yokohama, Japan.