Dark Fire (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
608
Utgivningsdatum
2015-07-16
Upplaga
New Edition
Utmärkelser
Winner of CWA Historical Dagger 2005 (UK)
Förlag
Pan Books
Illustratör/Fotograf
maps illustrations
Illustrationer
illustrations, maps
Dimensioner
197 x 130 x 38 mm
Vikt
418 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781447285847

Dark Fire

(2 röster)  |   Läs 1 recension
Häftad,  Engelska, 2015-07-16
127
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss imorgon
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. 'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time - Andrew Taylor, Spectator England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister and a new assignment . . . The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered the formula has disappeared. Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . . An internationally bestselling phenomenon, this gripping historical series continues with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Dark Fire
  2. +
  3. You Like It Darker

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt You Like It Darker av Stephen King (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 416 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 1 recension av Dark Fire. Har du också läst boken? Om du har köpt den på Bokus.com vill vi gärna höra vad du tyckte om den! Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Fascinerande och skrämmande 1500-talsdeckare
    Evalena Hietanen, 22 maj 2021

    Jag är helt förälskad i den puckelryggige londonadvokaten Matthew Shardlake och har redan läst alla utkomna böcker. Det var verkligen värt den extra ansträngningen att läsa böckerna på engelska. Den första läste jag på svenska och det gav inte samma känsla. Sansom beskriver kunnigt och målande miljöer och händelser med stor detaljrikedom och det är inget för känsliga personer. Bitvis var den just den här boken så skrämmande att jag la den åt sidan och läste något annat ett tag. Detta är perfe... Läs hela recensionen

Visa alla 1 recensioner

Fler böcker av C J Sansom

Recensioner i media

Historical crime fiction is sometimes little more than a modern adventure in fancy dress. Not so the novels of C. J. Sansom, whose magnificent books set in the reign of Henry VIII bring to life the sounds and smells of Tudor England . . . Dark Fire is a creation of real brilliance. * Sunday Times * Sansom gives us a broad view of politics Tudor housing to rival Rachman, Dickensian prisons, a sewage-glutted Thames, beggars in gutters, conspiracies at court and a political system predicated on birth not merit, intrigue not intelligence . . . like many before him, he offers an enjoyable history; but this is also an ethically informed one . . . a strong and intelligent novel. * Guardian * One of the authors greatest gifts is the immediacy of his descriptions . . . But it is Shardlake himself who steals the show. His honesty and humility shine out in a dark world where murder and mayhem are the order of the day. -- Colin Dexter Spellbinding . . . Sansoms vivid portrayal of squalid, stinking, bustling London; the citys wealth and poverty; the brutality and righteousness of religious persecution; and the complexities of English law make this a suspenseful, colourful and compelling tale. * Publishers Weekly * Dark Fire is wonderful stuff, featuring a sort of Tudor Rebus who moves through the religious and political chaos of the 1540s with sinister lan. -- James Naughtie * Glasgow Herald * CJ Sansoms books are arguably the best Tudor novels going * Sunday Times *

Övrig information

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a Ph.D. in history. After working in a variety of jobs, he retrained as a solicitor and practised in Sussex, until becoming a full-time writer. Sansom is the bestselling author of the acclaimed Shardlake series, the Spanish Civil War thriller Winter in Madrid and the lauded alternative history novel Dominion. He lives in Sussex.