We Have No Idea (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2018-05-17
Förlag
John Murray Publishers Ltd
Illustratör/Fotograf
Illustrated throughout
Illustrationer
Illustrated throughout
Dimensioner
196 x 128 x 24 mm
Vikt
260 g
ISBN
9781473660205
We Have No Idea (häftad)

We Have No Idea

A Guide to the Unknown Universe

Häftad Engelska, 2018-05-17
138
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Kan levereras innan julafton!
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
In our small corner of the universe, we know how some matter behaves most of the time and what even less of it looks like, and we have some good guesses about where it all came from. But we really have no clue what's going on. In fact, we don't know what about 95% of the universe is made of. So what happens when a cartoonist and a physicist walk into this strange, mostly unknown universe? Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson gleefully explore the biggest unknowns, why these things are still mysteries, and what a lot of smart people are doing to figure out the answers (or at least ask the right questions). While they're at it, they helpfully demystify many complicated things we do know about, from quarks and neutrinos to gravitational waves and exploding black holes. With equal doses of humour and delight, they invite us to see the universe as a vast expanse of mostly uncharted territory that's still ours to explore. This is a book for fans of Brian Cox and What If. This highly entertaining highly illustrated book is perfect for anyone who's curious about all the great mysteries physicists are going to solve next.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. We Have No Idea
  2. +
  3. How the World Really Works

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt How the World Really Works av Vaclav Smil (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 246 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av författarna

Recensioner i media

Packed with witty infographics, cartoons, and lucid explanations * BBC Focus Magazine *

Övrig information

Jorge Cham is the creator of the popular online comic Piled Higher and Deeper, popularly known as PHD Comics. He earned his PhD in robotics at Stanford. Daniel Whiteson is an associate professor of experimental particle physics at the University of California, Irvine, and conducts research using the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. Their physics explainer videos have been viewed millions of times on YouTube and aired on PBS.