The Pearl Sister (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
704
Utgivningsdatum
2018-04-05
Upplaga
Main Market Ed.
Förlag
Pan Books
Dimensioner
196 x 128 x 44 mm
Vikt
490 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9781509840076

The Pearl Sister

(8 röster)
Häftad,  Engelska, 2018-04-05
136
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
Journey to the dusty plains of Central Australia in The Pearl Sister, the fourth book in the number one bestselling Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley. A spellbinding story of love and loss, inspired by the mythology of the famous star constellation. CeCe DAplise, in her mid-twenties, has never felt she fitted in anywhere. Following the death of her father, the elusive billionaire Pa Salt so-called by the six daughters he adopted from around the globe she finds herself at breaking point. Dropping out of art college, CeCe watches as Star, her beloved sister, distances herself to follow her new love, leaving her completely alone. In desperation, CeCe decides to flee England and discover her past; the only clues she has are a black-and-white photograph and the name of a woman pioneer who lived in Australia over one hundred years ago. En-route to Sydney, CeCe heads to the one place she has ever felt close to being herself: the stunning beaches of Krabi, Thailand. There amongst the backpackers, she meets the mysterious Ace, a man as lonely as she is and whom she realizes has a secret to hide . . . A hundred years earlier Kitty McBride, daughter of an Edinburgh clergyman, is given the opportunity to travel to Australia as the companion of the wealthy Mrs McCrombie. In Adelaide, her fate becomes entwined with Mrs McCrombies family, including the identical, yet very different, twin brothers: impetuous Drummond, and ambitious Andrew, the heir to a pearling fortune. When CeCe finally reaches the searing heat of the Red Centre of Australia, she begins the search for her past. As something deep within her responds to the energy of the area and the ancient culture of the Aboriginal people, her creativity reawakens once more. With help from those she meets on her journey, CeCe begins to believe that this wild, vast continent could offer her something she never thought possible: a sense of belonging, and a home . . . The epic, multi-million selling series continues with The Moon Sister. 'Delicious reading' - Daily Mail Praise for the Seven Sisters: 'A masterclass in beautiful writing' The Sun 'Heart-wrenching, uplifting and utterly enthralling' Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party 'A breathtaking adventure' Lancashire Evening Post Five-Star Reader Reviews: 'Absolutely incredible' 'Totally addictive' 'Ideal for when you need to escape'
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Pearl Sister
  2. +
  3. The Moon Sister

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Moon Sister av Lucinda Riley (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 290 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Lucinda Riley

Recensioner i media

Delicious reading. -- <i>Daily Mail</i> Spanning continents and decades, this is a well-researched and compelling novel on an epic scale. -- <i>Sunday Express</i> Every corner of the world has become a thrilling new adventure with master storyteller Lucinda Riley . . . Told through a breath-taking panorama of captivating stories, their fates and fortunes are painted on a broad canvas and all created from a vast sweep of the imagination. -- <i>Lancashire Evening Post</i> Rileys meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background and bring CeCe and Kitty to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Rileys previous novels will adore this. -- <i>Booklist</i>, USA Lucinda paints another epic tale of love, loss and discovery. -- <i>My Weekly</i> Kitty's tangled history and its equally snarled connections to CeCe's origins unravel at a leisurely pace, with much lore about pearl fishing, aboriginal culture, and Australian race relations adding interest. -- <i>Kirkus Reviews</i>, USA This is like going on a fantastic literary holiday - a magical mystery tour of hope and dreams . . . The locations evocative, the descriptions exquisite and the story woven like ribbons through time and history. I was transported to a world of amazement as well as art. -- <i>The Book Trail</i> The Pearl Sister is absolutely wonderful . . . Lucinda enthralls and mesmerizes as she weaves the modern and the historical settings together so finely there's not a crack to be found in either the plot or the pacing. -- <i>Random Things Through My </i><i>Letterbox</i>

Övrig information

Lucinda Riley was born in 1965 in Ireland and, after an early career as an actress in film, theatre and television, wrote her first novel aged twenty-four. Her books have been translated into thirty-seven languages and continue to strike an emotional chord with cultures all around the world. The Seven Sisters series specifically has become a global phenomenon, creating its own genre. Her books have been nominated for numerous awards, including the Italian Bancarella Prize, the Lovely Books Award in Germany, and the Romantic Novel of the Year Award. In 2020 she received the Dutch Platinum Award for sales over 300,000 copies for a single novel in one year a prize last won by J. K. Rowling for Harry Potter. In collaboration with her son Harry Whittaker, she also devised and wrote a series of books for children called The Guardian Angels. Though she brought up her four children mostly in Norfolk in England, in 2015 she fulfilled her dream of buying a remote farmhouse in West Cork, Ireland, which she always felt was her spiritual home, and indeed this was where her last five books were written. Lucinda was diagnosed with cancer in 2017 and died on 11 June 2021, surrounded by her family.