Disappearing Earth (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
272
Utgivningsdatum
2019-05-14
Förlag
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Illustratör/Fotograf
Frontispiece Map
Illustrationer
FRONTISPIECE MAP
Dimensioner
235 x 160 x 20 mm
Vikt
318 g
ISBN
9781524711580
Disappearing Earth (häftad)

Disappearing Earth

Häftad Engelska, 2019-05-14
176

15% rabatt med kod CM22 i kassan

Gäller endast idag 28/11 när du handlar för minst 299 kr. Villkor

  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Kan levereras innan julafton!
Finns även som
Visa alla 8 format & utgåvor
For fans of Anthony Marras A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and Téa Obrehts The Tigers Wife: the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion a propulsive, evocative, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer.

One August afternoon, on the shoreline of the Kamchatka Peninsula at the northeastern tip of Russia, two girlssisters, ages eight and elevengo missing. The police investigation goes cold from the outset. In the girls tightly-woven community, everyone must grapple with the loss. But the fear and danger is felt most profoundly among the women of this isolated place.
Taking us one chapter per month across a year on Kamchatka, this powerful novel connects the lives of characters changed by the sisters abduction: a witness, a neighbor, a detective, a mother. Theirs is an ethnically diverse population in which racial tensions simmer, and so-called natives are often the first to be accused. As the story radiates from the peninsulas capital city to its rural north, we are brought to places of astonishing beauty: densely wooded forests, open expanses of tundra, soaring volcanoes, and glassy seas.
Disappearing Earth is a multifaceted story of the intimate lives of womentheir vulnerabilities and perils; their loves, aspirations, and regrets; their desires and dreams. The novel speaks to the complex yet enduring bonds of community as it offers startlingly vivid portraits of people reaching out to one another and, sometimes, reaching back to save each other.
Gripping and tender, evoking with seamless authenticity an extraordinary place on the other side of the world, this thrilling novel with a haunting suspense at its center announces a profoundly gifted writer.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Disappearing Earth
  2. +
  3. It Starts with Us

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt It Starts with Us av Colleen Hoover (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 325 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Julia Phillips