Shuggie Bain (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
480
Utgivningsdatum
2021-04-15
Utmärkelser
Winner of The Booker Prize 2020 (UK)
Förlag
Picador
Dimensioner
197 x 129 x 28 mm
Vikt
325 g
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9781529019292

Shuggie Bain

The Million-Copy Bestseller

(23 röster)  |  Läs 4 recensioner
Häftad,  Engelska, 2021-04-15
155
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-3 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE WINNER OF 'BOOK OF THE YEAR' AND 'DEBUT OF THE YEAR' AT THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS THE MILLION-COPY BESTSELLER 'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' The judges of the Booker Prize 'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' The Observer 'Shuggie Bain means so much to me. It is such a powerfully written story . . . I love a heartbreak book but there is so much love within this one, particularly between Shuggie and his mother Agnes.' Dua Lipa It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place. Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell. 'A heartbreaking novel' The Times 'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' Daily Mail
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Shuggie Bain
  2. +
  3. Exit West

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Exit West av Mohsin Hamid (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 294 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 4 recensioner av Shuggie Bain. Har du också läst boken? Om du har köpt den på Bokus.com vill vi gärna höra vad du tyckte om den! Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Oemotståndlig dystopi
    Ami, 21 januari 2024

    En färgstark skildring av de hårda villkoren i Glasgow i skuggan av 1980-talets gruvarbetarstrejk. Boken känns redan som en klassiker.

  2. Trovärdig barndomsskildring
    Marie , 4 augusti 2021

    En mycket välskriven, trovärdig och hoppingivande barndomsskildring, stundvis humoristisk mitt i det svåra, och med en värmande kärleksfull beskrivning av bandet mellan mor och barn.

  3. Glasgow, Mother and Sons
    Heather Daniel, 26 juli 2021

    Välskriven, drabbande. Människorna, miljön och relationerna känns autentiska. Man upplever tillsammans med huvudaktörerna deras svåra verklighet.
    Trots eländet finns det ljusglimtar, humor och hopp.
    Delvis självbiografiskt, vilket gör det ännu mer imponerande.

  4. För liten text
    MaC, 9 april 2021

    Boken är svårläst utan förstoringsglas.
    Synd att textstorleken allmänt inte anges i anslutning till sidantal och mått.
    I övrigt är boken läsvärd.

Visa alla 4 recensioner

Fler böcker av Douglas Stuart

Recensioner i media

A heartbreaking novel, a book both beautiful and brutal . . . All that grief and sadness and misery has been turned into something tough, tender and beautifully sad. * The Times * Leaves us gutted and marvelling: Life may be short, but it takes forever. * New York Times * I think its the best first book Ive read in many years. -- Karl Ove Knausgrd * Guardian * Rarely does a debut novel establish its world with such sure-footedness, and Stuarts prose is lithe, lyrical and full of revelatory descriptive insights. -- Alex Preston * Observer * An astonishing portrait, drawn from life, of a society left to die . . . Shuggie Bain has been longlisted for the Booker Prize. In a just world, it would win. * Daily Telegraph * Shuggie Bain comes from a deep understanding of the relationship between a child and a substance-abusing parent, showing a world rarely portrayed in literary fiction . . . Admirable and important. -- Sarah Moss * Guardian * This is a dysfunctional love story . . . between a boy and his mother . . . what makes his book a worthy contender for the Booker is his portrayal of their bond, together with all its perpetual damage. * Financial Times * Douglas Stuarts startling Glasgow-set debut novel creates a world of poverty and suffering offset by pure, heart-filling, love . . . Its a novel that deserves, and will surely often get, a second reading. -- Allan Massie * Scotsman * Shuggie Bain is a novel that aims for the heart and finds it. -- John Self * The Times * Tender and unsentimental . . . and the Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page. * Daily Mail * Beautiful and bleak but with enough warmth and optimism to carry the reader through. -- Graham Norton (via Twitter) A boy's heartbreaking love for his mother . . . as intense and excruciating to read as any novel I have ever held in my hand . . . The books evocative power arises out of the authors talent for conjuring a place, a time, and the texture of emotion . . . brilliantly written. * Newsday * An outstanding book . . . Magnificently done . . . Wonderful. -- Lee Child * Sunday Post * A debut novel that reads like a masterpiece, Shuggie Bain gives voice to the kind of helpless, hopeless love that children can feel toward broken parents. * Washington Post * This heartfelt and harrowing debut novel which has been compared to the work of douard Louis, Frank McCourt, and Hanya Yanagihara, and which Kirkus has already called a masterpiece . . . is rightly being heralded for its visceral, emotionally nuanced portrayal of working class Scottish life and its blazingly intimate exploration of a mother-son relationship. * LitHub * A formidable story, lyrically told, about intimacy, family, and love. -- 12 Best Books of 2020 So Far * ELLE (US) * The way Irvine Welsh's Trainspotting carved a permanent place in our heads and hearts for the junkies of late-1980s Edinburgh, the language, imagery, and story of fashion designer Stuart's debut novel apotheosizes the life of the Bain family of Glasgow Readers may get through the whole novel without breaking downthen read the first sentence of the acknowledgements and lose it. The emotional truth embodied here will crack you open. You will never forget Shuggie Bain. Scene by scene, this book is a masterpiece. -- <i>Kirkus Reviews</i> starred review A rare and haunting ode to 1980s Glasgow and its struggling communities, Shuggie Bain tells the story of a collapsing family that is lashed together by love alone. Douglas Stuart writes with startling, searing intimacy. I fell hard for these characters; when they have nothing left, they cling maddeninglyirresistiblyto humor, pride and hope * Chia-Chia Lin * Shuggie Bain is an intimate and frighteningly acute exploration of a mother-son relationship and a masterful portrait of alcoholism in Scottish working class life, rendered with old-school lyrical realism . . . I kept being reminded of Joyce&

Övrig information

Douglas Stuart was born and raised in Glasgow. After graduating from the Royal College of Art, he moved to New York, where he began a career in fashion design. Shuggie Bain, his first novel, won the Booker Prize and the Sue Kaufman Prize of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and was shortlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction, the Kirkus Prize and the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. He is also the author of Young Mungo and his short stories have appeared in the New Yorker and his essay on Gender, Anxiety and Class was published by Lit Hub. He lives in New York.