The Librarian of Auschwitz: The Graphic Novel (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
144
Utgivningsdatum
2023-01-12
Upplaga
Illustrated ed
Förlag
Macmillan
Översättare
Lilit ekulin Thwaites, Lilit ekulin Thwaites
Medarbetare
Aroca, Loreto (ill.)
Illustratör/Fotograf
Loreto Aroca
Dimensioner
12 x 254 x 181 mm
Vikt
406 g
Komponenter
Trade Paperback
ISBN
9781529088861

The Librarian of Auschwitz: The Graphic Novel

The Graphic Novel of the international bestseller, based on a true story

(1 röst)
Häftad,  Engelska, 2023-01-12
243
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
The Librarian of Auschwitz is ideal for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice, this graphic novel is the story of the smallest library in the world and the most dangerous. Based on a true story, it is an extraordinary novel of courage and hope by Antonio Iturbe and Loreto Aroca. It wasnt an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns . . . Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezn ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the living books prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be borrowed to educate the children in the camp. But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the childrens block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor . . . Based on the incredible and moving true story of Dita Kraus, holocaust survivor and secret librarian for the childrens block in Auschwitz.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Librarian of Auschwitz: The Graphic Novel
  2. +
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses Paperback Box Set (5 books)

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Court of Thorns and Roses Paperback Box Set (... av Sarah J Maas (mixed media product).

Köp båda 2 för 782 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Antonio Iturbe

Recensioner i media

An unforgettable, heartbreaking novel * Publishers Weekly, starred review * Like Markus Zusaks The Book Thief, its a sophisticated novel with mature themes, delivering an emotionally searing reading experience. An important novel that will stand with other powerful testaments from the Holocaust era. * Booklist, starred review * Though no punches are pulled about the unimaginable atrocity of the death camps, a life-affirming history. * Kirkus Reviews, starred review * this novel is one that could easily be recommended . . . alongside Elie Wiesel's Night and The Diary of Anne Frank . . . once read, will never be forgotten . . . A hauntingly authentic Holocaust retelling An engrossing read, seamlessly translated from Iturbe's original Spanish. Iturbe retains the dignity and full horror of Dita's situation, while creating a narrative of hope and bravery in the face of fear. * Compass Magazine *

Övrig information

Antonio Iturbe was born in 1967 and grew up in the dock-side neighbourhood of Barceloneta, in Barcelona. He studied Information Sciences at the Universitat Autnoma de Barcelona and over the past fifteen years has worked as a cultural journalist. In 2005, he made his debut as a novelist with the comic novel Rectos torcidos and has written for children with the series Los Casos del Inspector Cito, a collection of the stories he used to read to his son at bedtime. He is the author of the international bestseller The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Prince of the Skies. Salva Rubio is a Spanish author and historian. His credits include the graphic novels Monet: Itinerant of Light and The Photographer of Mauthausen. Loreto Aroca is a Spanish artist and a graduate of the University of Castilla-La Mancha. She previously won the schools Luna de Aire Award, honoring the best poetry aimed at children, for her and Fran Pintaderas book Portrait of the Pinzn Family (Retrato de la familia Pinzn). Lilit ekulin Thwaites is an award-winning Melbourne-based literary translator (Spanish>English). Her book-length translations include the bestselling The Librarian of Auschwitz (Antonio Iturbe, 2017), Australian Connection (multiple authors, 2019), and two futuristic novels by Rosa Montero, Tears in Rain (2012), and Weight of the Heart. (2016). In 2016, she was awarded Spains Order of Civil Merit for her promotion of Spanish culture in Australia.