The Wolf and the Woodsman (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2022-03-10
Förlag
Penguin (Cornerstone)
Dimensioner
31 x 188 x 127 mm
Vikt
310 g
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9781529100754
The Wolf and the Woodsman (häftad)

The Wolf and the Woodsman

The Sunday Times Bestseller

Häftad,  Engelska, 2022-03-10
139
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. 'Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.' Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree ______________________________________ A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince. A world where monsters roam free. In her forest-veiled pagan village, vike is the only woman without power. So when soldiers from the Holy Order of Woodsmen arrive to claim a girl for their king's blood sacrifice, the villagers only have one person to offer up. But when they are attacked en-route to the capital, and everyone but vike and a lone Woodsman are slaughtered, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gspr Brny, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. As they travel from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, they form a tenuous pact that slowly turns their loathing turns to affection. But trust is easily betrayed, and as vike discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar must decide where their loyalties really lie . . . ______________________________________ 'Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined' Tor.com 'An intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.' The Book Report 'Gorgeously written and grimly real' Alix Harrow 'A grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book' Cultured Vulture 'Richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful' Katherine Addison 'A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden' British Fantasy Society
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Wolf and the Woodsman
  2. +
  3. To Paradise

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt To Paradise av Hanya Yanagihara (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 188 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Ava Reid

Recensioner i media

Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart. * Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree * Written with a timelessness of spirit, a magical world that knows no bounds, and characters who will make your heart pound and your eyes well up, The Wolf and the Woodsman is an intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come. * The Book Report * A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down . . . stunningly rendered * S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold * A striking debut . . . Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined * Tor.com * Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. * Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January * A seriously impressive debut novel . . . grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book - and one that I will be recommending far and wide * Cultured Vulture * Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion. * Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King * A richly imagined exploration of faith and folklore . . . lushly written and thoroughly evocative * Culturess * The Wolf and the Woodsman, beautifully written and expertly told, is a darkly magical tale from beginning to end. I was equal parts terrified and delighted, somehow swept away and grounded in a world as beautiful as it is deadly. * Isabel Ibaez, author of Woven in Moonlight * Compelling, complicated, and worthwhile * Kirkus * vike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget. * Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witchs Heart * Examines religious freedom through the lens of myth and magic . . . The convincing enemies-to-lovers romance, fascinating religion-based magic system, and thoughtful examination of zealotry make this a notable debut. * Publishers Weekly * Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics. * Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch * Rich with vivid description, fantastical monsters, and magic unmatched by most other books for its pure physicality, this story may be strongly influenced by Jewish folklore, but the voice is original, perhaps as it's refreshingly female. * The Jewish Book Council * I enjoyed The Wolf and the Woodsman very much. vike is a memorable protagonist, deeply flawed but trying, almost despite herself, to do the right thing. The writing is assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful. * Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor * Ava Reid has boldly announced herself as a literary force with The Wolf and the Woodsman. The novel is impressive in its beauty, characters, and uncompromising nature and is all the more impressive for being Reid's debut novel. * SFF World * The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. vike is an unlikely heroine, torn by warring duties and identities but despite it all, she discovers a power that could save a nation from itself. But only if she lives. I couldn't put it

Övrig information

Ava Reid is the triple Sunday Times and #1 New York Times bestselling author of the gothic fantasies A Study in Drowning, Juniper & Thorn, and Lady Macbeth. She lives in California.