Tunnel (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Dalkey Archive Press
Antal komponenter
Tunnel (häftad)


Häftad, Engelska, 2024-04-04
Ännu ej utkommen – klicka "Bevaka" för att få ett mejl så fort boken boken går att köpa.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Thirty years in the making, William Gass's second novel first appeared on the literary scene in 1995, at which time it was promptly hailed as an indisputable masterpiece. The story of a middle aged professor who, upon completion of his massive historical study, "Guilt and Innocence in Hitler's Germany," finds himself writing a novel about his own life instead of the introduction to his magnum opus. The Tunnel meditates on history, hatred, unhappiness, and, above all, language.
Visa hela texten

Fler böcker av William H Gass

Recensioner i media

"The masterpiece . . . of this 70-year-old American master. . . . The Tunnel is maddening, enthralling, appalling, coarse, romantic, sprawling, bawling. . . . The rhythmic pressure of its language is seductive and bears along ever-interesting images and ideas. So much stuff in lis novel! ... We revel in the sheer glory of Mr. Gass's phenomenal prose style, his unflagging energy, in a prose that seems to embrace and swallow everything and make all things live with interest."-Robert Kelly, New York Times Book Review "Gass allows his narrator to make a world within words, for the concerns of this novel's prose re both poetic and encyclopedic. . . . Gass's prose is as musical and inventive as ever."-Philip Graham, Chicago Tribune "Each paragraph, each sentence, every clause, every phrase, has been burnished breathless, willfully wrought, stippled stark, with an obsessiveness bordering on Brodskey baroque. The eye can't rest, nor the mind mist. . . . Gass has written a splendid, daunting, loathsome novel."-John Leonard, Nation

Övrig information

William H. Gass (1924-2017) is an essayist, novelist, and literary critic. He grew up in Ohio and is a former professor of philosophy at Washington University. Among his books are six works of fiction and nine books of nonfiction, including On Being Blue (1976), Tests of Time (2002), A Temple of Texts (2006), and Life Sentences (2012).