The Barbarians Arrive Today (häftad)
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Nygrekiska (1453-)
Antal sidor
Carcanet Classics
Evan Jones
Greek, Modern (1453-)
216 x 135 x 28 mm
499 g
Antal komponenter

The Barbarians Arrive Today

Poems & Prose

Häftad,  Nygrekiska (1453-), 2020-09-24
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
A Times Literary Supplement Book of the Year 2020. A Review 31 Book of the Year 2020. With The Barbarians Arrive Today, Evan Jones has produced the classic English Cavafy for our age. Expertly translated from Modern Greek, this edition presents Cavafy's finest poems, short creative prose and autobiographical writings, offering unique insights into his life's work. Born in Alexandria, Egypt, Constantine Petrou Cavafy (1863-1933) was a minor civil servant who self-published and distributed his poems among friends; he is now regarded as one of the most significant poets of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, an influence on writers across generations and languages. The broad, rich world of the Mediterranean and its complex history are his domain, its days and nights of desire and melancholy, ambition and failure - with art always at the centre of life.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Barbarians Arrive Today
  2. +
  3. The Axion Esti

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Axion Esti av Odysseus Elytis (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 408 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av C P Cavafy

Recensioner i media

'Do we need another Cavafy, the most translated of modern Greek poets? Surprisingly, Evan Jones shows us that the answer is a resounding 'yes.' Cavafy famously left behind a body of 154 'canonical poems,' a number corresponding conveniently with the number of Shakespeare's sonnets. But he also left us with 37 'repudiated' poems, some of which were composed in the synthetic literary 'katherevousa' register of Greek, 75 'hidden' poems, and 30 'unfinished' or 'imperfect' poems. Cavafy also wrote prose about some of the same subject matter, and that explored his ideas about poetry. Jones does not attempt to give us a complete overview of Cavafy's work, but by putting poems in thematic categories, and allowing 'hidden' poems to brush up against 'canonical' ones (one could note that the manuscript of 'The Horses of Achilles' and of the much less well known 'Priam's Night March' are written on two sides of the same piece of paper) we see them in a new, revealing light. Jones is sensitive not only to the sense, but the sound of the Greek, rhyming where the original does, and his afterword, while wearing its considerable scholarship lightly, reorients Cavafy's oeuvre for the reader. It is a great pleasure - one of the most important Cavafyian words - to have these poems and prose writings in one volume.' - A.E. Stallings; 'Evan Jones merits the rewards of modesty; not improving what needs no improvement, nor trumping the ace with jokers of his own, lean and keen he ghosts cleverly along, oddly angular Poet of the City on his arm.' - Frederic Raphael

Övrig information

C.P. Cavafy was born in Alexandria, Egypt, where his Constantinopolitan Greek parents had settled in the mid-1850s. Cavafy spent his adolescence in England and Istanbul, but returned to Alexandria in 1885 where he worked as a journalist initially, and, from 1892 until his retirement in 1922, as a clerk in the Irrigation Office. Cavafy was not well-known in his lifetime, but found international recognition posthumously, and his admirers include Marguerite Yourcenar, Czeslaw Milosz, Leonard Cohen, Orhan Pamuk and Seamus Heaney.; Evan Jones lives in Manchester. His first collection, Nothing Fell Today But Rain (Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2003), was a finalist for the Governor-General's Literary Award for Poetry. He co-edited Modern Canadian Poets (Carcanet, 2010). His British debut, Paralogues, was published by Carcanet in 2012, and his latest collection, Later Emperors, in 2020.