The Man on the Street (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2020-09-03
Förlag
Quercus Publishing
Dimensioner
199 x 133 x 28 mm
Vikt
304 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781787478374

The Man on the Street

gritty, gripping crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin and Mari Hannah

Häftad,  Engelska, 2020-09-03
125
  • Skickas från oss inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
'Fresh, original, authentic and gritty - should be an instant classic' LEE CHILD NO ONE SEES HIM. BUT HE SEES EVERYTHING. It started with a splash. Jimmy, a homeless veteran grappling with PTSD, did his best to pretend he hadn't heard it - the sound of something heavy falling into the Tyne at the height of an argument between two men on the riverbank. Not his fight. Then he sees the headline: GIRL IN MISSING DAD PLEA. The girl, Carrie, reminds him of someone he lost, and this makes his mind up: it's time to stop hiding from his past. But telling Carrie, what he heard - or thought he heard - turns out to be just the beginning of the story. The police don't believe him, but Carrie is adamant that something awful has happened to her dad and Jimmy agrees to help her, putting himself at risk from enemies old and new. But Jimmy has one big advantage: when you've got nothing, you've got nothing to lose. Praise for The Man on the Street 'Intricate, expertly paced with a shocking conclusion' M. W. CRAVEN 'A unique protagonist and a cracking plotline' MARI HANNAH 'Engaging and complex . . . deeply satisfying' HARRIET TYCE 'A brilliant read and I love Jimmy' PATRICIA GIBNEY 'An unsparing examination of life on the streets' VAL MCDERMID WINNER OF THE CWA JOHN CREASEY DAGGER AND OF THE SPECSAVERS DEBUT CRIME NOVEL AWARD. A THEAKSTON'S NEW BLOOD AUTHOR FOR 2020 AND SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON'S OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Man on the Street
  2. +
  3. Haunting Adeline

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Haunting Adeline av H D Carlton (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 494 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Trevor Wood

Recensioner i media

Fresh, original, authentic and gritty - should be an instant classic * Lee Child * What more do you want from a debut than a unique protagonist and a cracking plotline? A smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity -- Mari Hannah The story races along at a cracking pace, lots of tension in the twists and turns, and Jimmy is hugely engaging and complex. It's a rare skill to develop a sympathetic character with such a chequered history for whom one so wants a happy ending. A deeply satisfying read -- Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange Intricate, expertly paced with a shocking conclusion. The dialogue is on-point, the narrative is flawless and Jimmy is a character you root for from page one. Believe me when I say this, Trevor Wood has a bright future in the world of crime fiction. Simply superb -- M W Craven, author of The Puppet Show I can safely say it will be huge . . . Flying through it. It's a brilliant read and I love Jimmy -- Patricia Gibney A superbly written trip through the shadows of my hometown with a unique protagonist as a tour guide -- Robert Scragg Superb and going to make serious waves. Love it -- Rob Parker Brings a fresh voice and a totally original perspective to the 'detective as outsider'. A homeless man, traumatised and violent, makes an unusual hero, but a hero with wit and courage who will win readers' hearts -- Isabelle Grey I've just finished The Man on the Street, and I hugely enjoyed it. Wood is the real thing. I recently read the last Rebus, and it absolutely stands up to that level. It's smart, witty, compassionate and real, and the dialogue is brilliant. It's a fine thriller with something to say - and it feels like a blast of fresh air in the genre -- Stef Penney, author of The Tenderness of Wolves Wood's vivid evocation of Newcastle takes us into the depths of the city, and through Jimmy - our unlikely investigator - delivers an unsparing examination of life on the streets * Val McDermid * Jimmy is an original and convincing character... Wood not only weaves an enjoyable crime novel, but also explores the real world plight of many ex-servicemen and women * Spectator *

Övrig information

Trevor Wood has lived in Newcastle for twenty-five years and considers himself an adopted Geordie. He's a successful playwright who has also worked as a journalist and spin-doctor for the City Council. Prior to that he served in the Royal Navy for sixteen years. Trevor holds an MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) from UEA. The Man on the Street, his first novel, was published to widespread critical acclaim and won the 2020 CWA New Blood Dagger. One Way Street was his second novel and Dead End Street concluded the trilogy.