The Islander (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
416
Utgivningsdatum
2022-06-09
Förlag
Nine Eight Books
Medarbetare
Morley, Paul (contributions)
Dimensioner
34 x 228 x 151 mm
Vikt
680 g
ISBN
9781788705752
The Islander (inbunden)

The Islander

My Life in Music and Beyond

(1 röst)  |  Läs 1 recension
Inbunden,  Engelska, 2022-06-09
287

8% rabatt med kod MARS8 i kassan

Gäller t.o.m. 4 mars. Villkor.

  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
An Uncut Magazine Book of the Year A Telegraph Book of the Year A Financial Times Book of the Year 'An adventurer, an entrepreneur, a buccaneer, a visionary' - BONO As the founder of Island Records, renowned music producer Chris Blackwell has discovered and worked with some of the most legendary artists of the second half of the twentieth century - from Steve Winwood to Cat Stevens, Bob Marley to Grace Jones, U2 to Roxy Music, via Nick Drake, the B-52's and Robert Palmer. A maverick free spirit himself, Blackwell turned Island into a home for groundbreaking musicians and their wildly divergent music styles, playing an instrumental role in bringing reggae to the world stage. Now, as he turns eighty-five, the great raconteur takes us back to the island where it all began: Jamaica - the paradise where his family once partied with the likes of Noel Coward, Ian Fleming and Errol Flynn and where, as local Jamaican sounds began to adopt contemporary American trends, Blackwell's burgeoning musical instincts flourished. It was also the birthplace of the cutting-edge Island Records, founded by Blackwell in 1959. But that was just the start of a truly remarkable career... Winding through the music industry, this fascinating memoir makes for a giddy ride, encountering Island's many esteemed collaborators over the years and unpacking the initiatives, decisions and risks that ultimately brought such enduring success to Blackwell, both in music and beyond.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Islander
  2. +
  3. Burntcoat

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Burntcoat av Sarah Hall (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 326 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 1 recension av The Islander. Har du också läst boken? Om du har köpt den på Bokus.com vill vi gärna höra vad du tyckte om den! Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Bakom kulisserna
    Crimson Stark, 30 juni 2022

    Rolig och lättläst. Mycket intressanta berättelser om de artister och andra som skapade musikhistoria på 60- och 70-talet.

Visa alla 1 recensioner

Fler böcker av Chris Blackwell

  • Islander

    Chris Blackwell

    In the vein of Sound Man and The Soundtrack of My Life, a lyrical memoir from the founder of one of the greatest music labels of all time, Island Records, about his astonishing life and career helping to bring reggae music to the world stage and w...

Recensioner i media

'As you're about to find out through the pages in this book, Chris Blackwell - who looms large in U2's life and was in fact our lifeline into the music world - is an adventurer, an entrepreneur, a buccaneer, a visionary and a gentleman. I'm proud to know him.' -- Bono 'C.B. had this way of throwing me in the deep end knowing that I would thrive on being challenged. As you'll read in The Islander, he knows how to get the very best out of people - he's a mover and a shaker and a mischief-maker.' -- Grace Jones 'I read Chris Blackwell's autobiography in one sitting, unable to tear myself away. From "My Boy Lollipop" and Bob Marley, via Swinging London and punk, all the way to Talking Heads and U2, I felt like I was reading the inside story of the music of my life.' -- Salman Rushdie 'A thoroughly quotable autobiography, a book that's hard to put down. 4/5' -- Mojo 'Fascinating. 8/10' -- Uncut 'Highly readable.' -- The Guardian 'A compelling autobiography.' -- The Observer 'A story told with disciplined coherence that plunges deep beneath the surface.' -- Daily Telegraph 'Highly recommended.' -- Kirkus 'If you're even a minor fan of music books ... buy this autobiography. Fascinating.' -- Variety 'A page-turner of an autobiography.' -- Record Collector 'Fascinating autobiography of the Island Records founder. The Islander is a treasure.' -- Prog 'A rip-roaring yarn, the ultimate behind-the-scenes insider look at the coolest label ever on the planet.' -- The Quietus 'A compelling, juicy book.' -- Irish Times 'An absorbing read.' -- Echoes 'An extraordinary story and a wonderful book. It couldn't be more enthusiastically recommended.' -- Mark Ellen 'Highly entertaining, rapid-fire, hard-to-put-down memoir.' -- Air Mail 'There are amazing insights. If you want to know how it was ... read The Islander.' -- Bob Lefsetz

Övrig information

Chris Blackwell (Author) Chris Blackwell is a celebrated record producer, businessman and founder of the hugely influential Island Records music label. Paul Morley (Contributor) Paul Morley is an acclaimed British music journalist and music industry executive.