Wolves of Winter (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
416
Utgivningsdatum
2023-10-12
Förlag
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Dimensioner
32 x 224 x 142 mm
Vikt
615 g
ISBN
9781838937942
Wolves of Winter (inbunden)

Wolves of Winter

The epic sequel to Essex Dogs from Sunday Times bestseller and historian Dan Jones

Inbunden,  Engelska, 2023-10-12
219
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
'A convincing picture of hard men in a hard time, Dan Jones fiction rings with the authority of his scholarly history.' PHILIPPA GREGORY 'Absolutely fabulous. A raucous, swaggering charge through the medieval underworld. I had such a good time reading it that I never wanted it to stop.' ANTONIA FRASER 'Superb historical fiction as fresh, vivid and vital as this morning's headlines... proves once again that nothing really changes, be it a soldier's life or great storytelling.' LEE CHILD AN ENDLESS WAR. A BLOOD-SOAKED BATTLEFIELD. A BAND OF BROTHERS. 1347. Bruised and bloodied by an epic battle at Crcy, six soldiers of fortune known as the Essex Dogs pick through the wreckage of the fighting and their own lives. Now a new siege is beginning, and the Dogs are sent to attack the soaring walls of Calais. King Edward has vowed no Englishman will leave France til this city falls. To get home, they must survive a merciless winter in a lawless camp deadlier than any battlefield. Obsessed with tracking down the vanished Captain, Loveday struggles to control his own men. Romford is haunted by the reappearance of a horrific figure from his past. And Scotsman is spiralling into a pit of drink, violence and self-pity. The Dogs are being torn apart but this war is far from over. It wont be long before they lose more of their own From a vast siege camp built outside Calais' walls, to pirate ships patrolling the harbour, and finally into the darkest corners of oligarchs houses inside a starving city, this captivating and darkly comic story brings the fourteenth century vividly to life. A searing tale about merchants, money and the medieval deep state, this is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'Wolves of Winter is a horrible joy to read: horrible because of the vivid, random bloodshed, and a joy because of the easy authenticity of his prose... If youve ever enjoyed a Ridley Scott film, go and buy this book!' ALICE WINN 'Recalls Hilary Mantels Wolf Hall novels with its masterly control, period details, and understated humor.' KIRKUS STARRED REVIEW 'Dan Jones tackles The Hundred Years' War and puts faces and personalities, drug habits and fighting in an urgent light. I feel like Im there . . . Simply stunning.' DUFF McKAGAN, New York Times No1 bestselling author of Its So Easy, and founder member of Guns N' Roses 'Finding hints of light amid the darkness of war, Wolves of Winter captures the humanity at the heart of our history.' DR MICHAEL LIVINGSTON 'Wolves of Winter is another brilliant book by Dan Jones. Im constantly amazed at how prolific Dan is, and also how he keeps his standards so high.' CHARLES SPENCER 'Nobody but Dan Jones could write this story... It captures the grime, blood, sweat and friendship of medieval war brilliantly.' GARETH RUSSELL 'An enthralling, captivating, and thrilling chronicle... Truly wonderful and truly fascinating!' GENERAL DAVID PETRAEUS Praise for Essex Dogs: 'Reminds me of Cornwell at his best.' CONN IGGULDEN 'This is the Hundred Years' War as directed by Oliver Stone with a historian's eye for detail' ELODIE HARPER
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Wolves of Winter
  2. +
  3. One Day

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt One Day av David Nicholls (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 358 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Dan Jones

Recensioner i media

Dan Jones brings us his Essex Dogs in a new campaign the siege of Calais in 1347 where their grim courage and innate violence are thrown against the high walls and deep moats of Calais. A convincing picture of hard men in a hard time, Dan Jones fiction rings with the authority of his scholarly history. * Philippa Gregory * Absolutely fabulous. A raucous, swaggering charge through the medieval underworld. I had such a good time reading it that I never wanted it to stop. * Antonia Fraser * 'Superb historical fiction as fresh, vivid and vital as this morning's headlines... proves once again that nothing really changes, be it a soldier's life or great storytelling.' * Lee Child * At its best, the book recalls Hilary Mantels Wolf Hall novels with its masterly control, period details, and understated humor Jones entertaining second installment in a trilogy more than whets the appetite for the conclusion. * Kirkus Starred Review * Nobody but Dan Jones could write this story. I could not put it down. It captures the grime, blood, sweat and friendship of medieval war brilliantly. * Gareth Russell * An enthralling, captivating, and thrilling chronicle of 14th Century warfare by a gifted medieval historian who brilliantly transports the reader to the experience of those who had boots on the ground in the Hundred Years War. Truly wonderful and truly fascinating! -- General David Petraeus Dan Jones tackles The Hundred Years' War and puts faces and personalities, drug habits and fighting in an urgent light. I feel like Im there . . . Simply stunning. -- DUFF McKAGAN, New York Times No1 bestselling author of Its So Easy, and founder member of Guns N' Roses The siege of Calais and pirate ships spell new dangers for the Essex Dogs as the Hundred Years War rages on in the gripping trilogy from the popular historian and broadcaster * Waterstones, Best Books for October * Falstaff meets Saving Private Ryan in this rollicking story of men at war in Europe in the turbulent 1300s. The rich mix of accurate history, fascinating characters, and fine storytelling will captivate readers. Wonderful historical fiction at the level of Bernard Cornwell or Patrick O'Brian! * Admiral James Stavridis, former Supreme Allied Commander at NATO and bestselling author of 2054: A Novel * As brilliant, brutal and bloody as the first... a grim and grisly tale vividly told, as Jones deftly unravels the cynical reasons for the continuation of the endless conflict * Daily Mail * Lively, usually violent action and punchy dialogue are underpinned by the authors knowledge of the period * The Sunday Times * Packed with absolute accuracy * Restless * Dan Jones makes historical fiction feel effortless, as if he didnt need to research anything because he already knew it all by heart. Wolves of Winter is a horrible joy to read: horrible because of the vivid, random bloodshed, and a joy because of the easy authenticity of his prose. The characters! The battle scenes! The grit! If youve ever enjoyed a Ridley Scott film, go and buy this book! * Alice Winn * A rousing story of the Hundred Years War, the first in a projected trilogy . . . Vivid characterizations and a strain of black humor add to the pointed drama . . . Brutal, graphic, and gory, the battle scenes viscerally hurl the reader into the heat of 14th-century combat. Its good to know these Dogs will howl again. * Publishers Weekly * Focuses on the brutality of long past times, and yet has a contemporary feel, with influences as diverse as Bernard Cornwell and Game of Thrones Jones confidently evokes the whorehouses, the illnesses, the death and depravity, the horrible smells of the public jakes and of burning flesh * The Spectator *

Övrig information

Dan Jones is the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of many non-fiction books, including The Plantagenets, The Templars, and Powers and Thrones. He is a renowned writer, broadcaster and journalist. He has presented dozens of TV shows, including the Netflix series Secrets of Great British Castles, and writes and hosts the podcast This is History. His debut novel, Essex Dogs, is the first in a series following the fortunes of ordinary soldiers in the early years of the Hundred Years War. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.